top of page
  • Writer's pictureElsabete Kebede

Mourn, Adjust & Evolve: MAIP 2020 Goes Virtual



It was nearing midnight in Ethiopia and I was sitting in the middle of my family room anxiously refreshing my email. It was selection day for the Multicultural Advertising Intern Program (MAIP) and I was a finalist. After a grueling application process that took months, I would finally learn whether or not I was selected by an agency to be a public relations intern.

So, using the limited internet data I had, I sat glued to my phone until I met my fate. I shortly found out I was selected by MullenLowe in their Boston headquarters. So, not only was I selected, but I was selected by a top-tier agency in the east coast. I was hyped. At the time, summer 2020 was looking like a dream concocted by Hot Girl Meg.


Naturally, COVID-19 laughed in my face. As I saw internships on LinkedIn drop like flies, I knew my chances of my internship offer pulling through was little to none. I was frustrated at this amazing opportunity I worked so hard for disintegrate before my eyes but hey, that’s life. I'm grateful to share that I still have the opportunity to continue my internship virtually with MullenLowe's Boston office while engaging in MAIP's first ever Virtual Engagement Program (VEP).

The road to that confirmation though, was not a short one. Still, we must mourn, adjust, and evolve.

The months leading up to this summer was anxious and disheartening but I’m thankful I had my 4A’s family along the journey. I’ve bonded with my cohort in a way I believe previous MAIPers hadn’t before. We drop timely memes into our lively group chat to laugh and heal from all that we’ve lost. We are fearless on voicing our thoughts on the significance of diversity and inclusion in the adverting industry. We are an ambitious, supportive group of young professionals that I’m inspired by.  Beyond them, I am able to sit in and engage with the trailblazers and titans of the advertising industry. I am able to recognize the trailblazer and the budding titan within me.


This summer isn't what I expected but it's also been an incredible lesson for me on the importance of community and adaptation. I'm grateful to the 4A’s and Class of MAIP 2020; I can't wait to see what is in store for us not only for the remainder of the summer but the rest of our careers.

9 views0 comments
bottom of page